Made Me Laugh

Some of these are from a while ago, but I still get a kick out of them.

1. Cisco’s Mom moved, and gave him a bunch of nice things that wouldn’t be coming with her, one of which was a ceiling light fixture. Cisco brought it home and asked if I wanted him to install it in our entryway. It’s a nice fixture, but it doesn’t fit so well with what we’ve got going on around here, so I said, “I don’t know… I’m not so sure it’s what I’m looking for. Besides, it’s kind of a boob light.”

I probably shouldn’t have initiated the “boob light” conversation with Snert around, but he was totally (I thought) engrossed in his legos.

“It is not a boob light,” said Cisco.

“Well, yeah, it kind of is.”

“No, it isn’t.”

And then Snert, without looking up says, “It’s the shape.”

2. Recently, Snert and I had “words” so he stomped up to his room, wrote me a note, folded it into a paper airplane and threw it at my head.

“I am sad beecus of you mom”

3. It seems that my nephews and nieces like coming over to play. This makes me happy. They are so comfortable here, in fact, that they routinely relax right into their daily BM’s on my watch. It’s such an honor. One day I was watching some of them when the three-year-old, who was struggling at the time with severe potty-training-lockdown-stubbornness (think not “going” for days until he’s at desperate-bottom-grabbing point), came over to play and… you know. He was so proud. Later on he joyfully told his mom, “I’m going to tell Dad that I pooped to Aunt Rose!”

4. Snert: “Mom, how do you sing or whistle from your feet?”

5. I have another three-year-old nephew, and to him everything is HUGE and AWESOME. Except his mom, who is DINY. One day he was sitting on my lap and we were goofing around with my scarf, wrapping it around our heads and being “little old ladies”. First I put it on his head, and then mine, and when I said “Am I a little old lady?” he laughed and said “You’re not a little lady. You’re a huge lady.”

6. We were saying the Rosary in the car. I asked Snert what the fifth Joyful mystery is and he said, “Well, it’s when Mary and Joseph and Jesus were in Jerusalem, and I don’t know why they were there, but they couldn’t find Jesus, and they looked and looked and they found him in the temple teaching people all about the Our Father and the Sign of the Cross and stuff, even though he was only a kid.”

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

